Scientific Structure

IAGA is organised into six Divisions and four Interdivisional Commissions each led by a Chair and Co-Chair. Each Division/Commission may form Working Groups in specialist topic areas and elect officers to run the business of the Working Groups:

IAGA Organigram

This diagram illustrates that the four Interdivisional Commissions coordinate activities across the Divisions for their common interests in history, education and outreach, Space Weather and science in developing countries.

A second diagram is provided to indicate how IAGA operates.

Union & Inter-Assocciation Activities

IAGA is also involved in an inter-association activity:

  • Working group on Electromagnetic Studies of Earthquakes and Volcanoes (EMSEV)

and six Union Commissions:

  • Climatic and Environmental Changes (CCEC); Commission sur les changements climatiques et environnementaux
  • Mathematical Geophysics (CMG); Géophysique mathématique
  • Geophysical Risk and Sustainability (GRC); Commission sur les risques géophysiques et développement durable
  • Study of the Earth's Deep Interior (SEDI); Étude des profondeurs terrestres
  • Data and Information (UCDI); Commission pour les Données et l'Information
  • Planetary Sciences (UCPS); Planétologie

Further collaborations

IAGA has siged a Memorandum of Understanding with IAPS

The International Association of Physics Students (IAPS), as its Charter states, is an international, student-run educational association, which aims to encourage physics students in their academic and professional growth by developing an ever-growing worldwide community within which peaceful relations are established in a collaborative, diverse and friendly social environment.

IAGA Procedures

Guide for IAGA Officers (pdf, 74kb) (It is stressed that this document is a guide, not a rulebook. It is intended to help IAGA officers know what is expected of them.)


Executive Committee

IAGA is administered by an Executive Committee on behalf of IUGG Member Countries in accordance with the Association's Statutes and By-Laws. IAGA communicates with Member Countries through National Correspondents nominated by appropriate national bodies. Member Countries are represented at IAGA Assemblies by accredited Chief Delegates who may vote on matters, according to the voting rules set out in the Statutes and By-Laws, at meetings of the Conference of Delegates.

Previous IAGA Executive Committees 

Past IAGA Presidents and General Secretaries

National Correspondents

List of the current IAGA National Correspondents as pdf.

Nominating Committee

Candidates for election to the Executive Committee are selected by a Nominating Committee, appointed in accordance with By-Law 11.

Annual Reports

IAGA produces brief Annual Reports to IUGG describing the Association's activities:

Download of the most recent Annual Report (PDF):

Previous Annual Report PDF documents:

2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020.

Older versions are available on web sites:

1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004.

Statutes and By-Laws

The English version of the IAGA Statutes and By-Laws, and an explanation of the terms used in them, can be viewed via the following links:

This statutes and by-laws replaced the previous version of

    Statutes (2019)

The current Statutes, By-Laws and Glossary can be downloaded here (pdf).

Share:  Add to Facebook Tweet This Add to Delicious Submit to Digg Stumble This